AG1 Pro adds Calcium-HMB, creatine and zinc carnosine at $99 a month, three ingredients well suited to GLP-1 users, inside a proprietary blend that hides the doses.
Overview
AG1, formerly Athletic Greens, is among the most heavily marketed supplements in the world. Its pricing runs across tiers from $49 to $99 a month, with AG1 Pro at $99, around $3.30 a serving. Pro includes everything in AG1 Next Gen plus Creavitalis creatine monohydrate, Calcium-HMB and zinc carnosine, described by the company as added muscle and gut lining support.
Those three additions are genuinely relevant here. Creatine and HMB are the two supplement ingredients with the best evidence for preserving lean mass during weight loss, which is the most serious risk of GLP-1 treatment. Zinc carnosine has real research on gut lining integrity. AG1 has also published a GLP-1 nutrition guide, an article on the best supplements for GLP-1 users, and content on probiotics for that population, and it has supported Penn State research on GLP-1 medications and eating behaviour. This is not a brand that stumbled into the category by accident.
The persistent criticism is transparency. AG1 uses a proprietary blend, so the amount of each ingredient is not disclosed. That matters enormously for creatine and HMB in particular, both of which have well-established effective doses, 3 to 5g for creatine and 3g for HMB, that would occupy most of a scoop by themselves. Without disclosure, a buyer cannot know whether they are getting a working dose or a sprinkle. Dietitian reviewers have separately criticised the taste as overly sweet, bitter and gritty, and the brand's reported marketing spend of around $2.2 million a month on podcast advertising alone is part of what the price funds.
AG1 Pro at a Glance
| Detail | What AG1 Pro Publishes |
|---|---|
| Type of product | Greens and multi-ingredient daily powder |
| AG1 Pro price | $99 a month, around $3.30 a serving |
| Tier pricing | $49, $79 and $99 across the range |
| Pro additions | Creavitalis creatine monohydrate, Calcium-HMB, zinc carnosine |
| Ingredient disclosure | Proprietary blend; individual amounts not published |
| Relevant evidence | Creatine and HMB are the best muscle preservation ingredients |
| Published content | GLP-1 nutrition guides and supplement articles |
| Research support | Penn State research on GLP-1 medications and nutrition |
| Common criticism | Taste and undisclosed doses |
| FDA evaluated | No, as with all dietary supplements |
What Is Actually in It
- A broad greens and micronutrient base in one daily scoop
- Creavitalis creatine monohydrate in the Pro tier
- Calcium-HMB for muscle preservation
- Zinc carnosine for gut lining support
- Published GLP-1 educational content
- No disclosure of individual ingredient amounts
Supplement or Medication?
A dietary supplement. Nothing in AG1 acts on GLP-1 receptors. The relevance is nutritional: covering micronutrient gaps and, in the Pro tier, adding ingredients aimed at the muscle loss that accompanies rapid weight loss.
How You Buy It
Choose your tier
Pricing runs $49 to $99, with Pro at the top.
Take one scoop daily
A single daily serving mixed with water.
Consider buying creatine separately
A disclosed 5g of creatine costs a few pounds a month on its own.
Judge the taste before committing
Dietitian reviewers have consistently criticised it.
Who It Is Sold To
- Adults wanting broad micronutrient coverage in one product
- No consultation or clinical assessment involved
- Creatine is generally safe but should be discussed if you have kidney disease
- Not appropriate as a substitute for prescribed obesity treatment
- Consider whether disclosed single ingredients would serve you better
- Speak to a clinician about protein and creatine if you have kidney concerns
Clinical Oversight and Evidence
Clinical Oversight
None. This is a direct-to-consumer supplement with no clinical involvement, though AG1 publishes more educational content on GLP-1 nutrition than most competitors.
Evidence
Strong for the individual ingredients, unverifiable for the product. Creatine monohydrate and HMB both have substantial published evidence for preserving lean mass, and zinc carnosine has gut lining research. Because AG1 does not disclose amounts, there is no way to establish whether the formula delivers doses comparable to those studies. AG1 has supported university research on GLP-1 medications and nutrition, which is a genuine contribution separate from its product claims.
Availability and Shipping
Where to Buy
Direct from AG1 on subscription. The brand sells principally through its own channel.
Shipping
Direct-to-consumer subscription shipping, with a shipping charge on some purchase options.
What You Get
- Extensive published GLP-1 educational content
- Support for university research on GLP-1 and nutrition
- A single daily product covering a broad ingredient range
- Multiple pricing tiers
- Established customer service and subscription management
- No ingredient amount disclosure, and no clinical support
Pricing
Among the most expensive daily supplements available, with the Pro tier at the top of the range.
| Product or Plan | Published Price | What It Covers |
|---|---|---|
| AG1 Pro | $99 a month | Around $3.30 a serving |
| Mid tier | $79 a month | Around $2.64 a serving |
| Entry tier | $49 a month | Around $1.63 a serving |
| Some options | Plus $9 shipping | Depending on the purchase configuration |
Pricing reflects what AG1 Pro published at the time of review and can change without notice. Confirm current pricing directly with the seller before buying.
Membership Fees
None as such, though AG1 operates a subscription model by default across all tiers.
Annual Cost
Roughly $1,188 a year for AG1 Pro, or around $588 at the entry tier, before shipping.
Cancellation and Refund Policy
Cancellation
Subscriptions can be cancelled from your AG1 account.
Refunds
AG1 operates its own direct-to-consumer returns policy.
Insurance, HSA and FSA
Insurance
Not applicable to a retail supplement.
HSA / FSA
Generally not eligible. Dietary supplements are usually excluded from HSA and FSA spending without a letter of medical necessity from a clinician.
For a fuller explanation of how these accounts work with GLP-1 care, see our GLP-1 insurance, HSA and FSA guide.
Who AG1 Pro May Be Best For
- You want creatine, HMB and micronutrients in one daily scoop
- You value convenience over knowing exact doses
- You are already an AG1 customer considering the Pro upgrade
- You find the published GLP-1 content useful
- You would not otherwise take a greens or micronutrient product
- Price is not your primary concern
- $99 a month for a formula whose doses you cannot see
- Proprietary blend hides amounts of creatine and HMB specifically
- Both ingredients have effective doses that would dominate a scoop
- Taste criticised by dietitian reviewers
- Heavy marketing spend is part of what the price funds
- Cheaper competitors disclose their amounts
Alternatives to Consider
4LIVN HMB Fruit Chews
3g of USP Verified myHMB at a disclosed dose for $29.99.
Thorne GLP-1 Support Stack
Separate products with published amounts, including creatine.
Transparent Labs GLP-1 Nutrient Support
A brand built entirely on disclosing every dose.
Ritual GLP-1 Nutrition Support
Traceable sourcing and complete protein, at lower cost.
You can also compare the whole field in our best GLP-1 supplements and GLP-1 supplement evidence review roundups.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does AG1 Pro add over the standard product?
Creavitalis creatine monohydrate, Calcium-HMB and zinc carnosine, described as added muscle and gut lining support. It costs $99 a month against $49 to $79 for the lower tiers.
Are those good ingredients for GLP-1 users?
Yes, genuinely. Creatine and HMB are the two best-evidenced supplement ingredients for preserving lean mass during weight loss, which is the most serious risk of GLP-1 treatment. Zinc carnosine has real gut lining research.
So why only three stars?
Because AG1 uses a proprietary blend and does not disclose how much of each ingredient it contains. Creatine is studied at 3 to 5g and HMB at 3g, doses that would occupy most of a scoop by themselves, so without disclosure you cannot know what you are getting.
Is it worth $99 a month?
That depends on whether you value the convenience of one scoop over knowing your doses. Buying disclosed creatine and HMB separately costs a fraction of the difference between tiers.
What do reviewers say about the taste?
Dietitian reviewers have described AG1 Next Gen as overly sweet and bitter with a gritty texture. Taste is a recurring theme in independent reviews.
Does AG1 fund research?
It has supported Penn State research on GLP-1 medications and eating behaviour, which is a genuine contribution distinct from its product claims.
Is it FDA approved?
No. It is a dietary supplement, so it does not require FDA approval before marketing and its claims have not been evaluated by the FDA.