Telehealth ProviderUpdated: August 2026

The Virtual NP Review: Nurse-Practitioner-Led Brand-Name Care

A nurse-practitioner-led telehealth practice prescribing brand-name GLP-1s and non-GLP-1 alternatives, with a $75 monthly membership or $99 pay-as-you-go visits.

3/5

Pros

  • +Brand-name FDA-approved medication only, no compounded products
  • +Wide medication list including non-GLP-1 options like Contrave
  • +Board-certified nurse practitioners providing care
  • +Choice of $75 monthly membership or $99 pay-as-you-go
  • +Published BMI eligibility criteria

Cons

  • -Serves only seven states
  • -Medication cost is not included in either pricing option
  • -Lab requirements are not specified
  • -Cancellation, refund and insurance terms are not published
  • -Explicitly does not prescribe controlled substances such as phentermine
#1 PICK

CoreAge Rx

Editor's Choice

Our #1 recommended provider for GLP-1 medications

$99/mo

12-month plan

503B Pharmacy

FDA registered

Fast Shipping

2-3 business days

5/5 Rating

Top rated

The Virtual NP is a nurse-practitioner-led telehealth practice prescribing brand-name GLP-1s and non-GLP-1 weight medications, with membership or pay-as-you-go pricing.

Overview

Care is delivered by board-certified nurse practitioners, and the medication list is entirely brand-name: Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Rybelsus, Victoza, Trulicity, Saxenda and Contrave. No compounded products are offered, and the practice explicitly states it does not prescribe controlled substances such as phentermine.

That last point is worth noting. Phentermine is widely prescribed for weight management, and a practice declining to prescribe controlled substances is making a deliberate scope choice rather than an oversight. If phentermine is something you want considered, this is not the provider for it.

Pricing offers two routes: $99 per visit pay-as-you-go, or a $75 per month membership. Medication cost is not included in either, so your total depends on your pharmacy and coverage. Eligibility follows standard clinical criteria, a BMI of 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with risk factors including hypertension, prediabetes, diabetes, sleep apnea or increased waist circumference.

The Virtual NP at a Glance

DetailWhat The Virtual NP Publishes
Type of companyNurse-practitioner-led telehealth practice
MedicationsBrand-name GLP-1s plus Contrave and Saxenda
FormulationBrand-name FDA-approved only; no compounded products
Pay-as-you-go$99.00 per visit
Membership$75 per month
Provider typeBoard-certified nurse practitioners
States servedTexas, Florida, Nevada, New York, Arizona, New Mexico and Kansas

Medications Offered

What You Can Be Prescribed
  • Wegovy (semaglutide) and Ozempic (semaglutide)
  • Zepbound (tirzepatide) and Mounjaro (tirzepatide)
  • Rybelsus (oral semaglutide)
  • Victoza and Saxenda (liraglutide), and Trulicity (dulaglutide)
  • Contrave (bupropion-naltrexone) as a non-GLP-1 option
  • No controlled substances such as phentermine

Brand-Name or Compounded?

Brand-name only. The Virtual NP lists exclusively FDA-approved products with no compounded alternatives. That gives certainty about what you receive, but means medication cost follows brand pricing at your pharmacy unless you have coverage or use a manufacturer self-pay channel.

Consultation Process

1

Choose your pricing

Select $99 pay-as-you-go per visit or the $75 per month membership.

2

Nurse practitioner visit

A board-certified nurse practitioner assesses your history against the published BMI criteria.

3

Prescription issued

If appropriate, a brand-name prescription is issued from the published medication list.

4

Fulfilment

Licensed pharmacies fill the prescription, with direct-to-home delivery available.

Eligibility

  • BMI of 30 or higher
  • Or BMI of 27 or higher with risk factors
  • Risk factors include hypertension, prediabetes, diabetes, sleep apnea or increased waist circumference
  • You must be located in one of the seven states served
  • Controlled substances such as phentermine are not prescribed

Provider Involvement and Lab Requirements

Provider Involvement

Board-certified nurse practitioners deliver care. The membership option at $75 a month suggests ongoing access rather than one-off visits, though the specific visit cadence included is not published.

Lab Requirements

The Virtual NP does not specify lab requirements. Ask during your visit what bloodwork the nurse practitioner wants, particularly if you have not had recent metabolic testing.

Pharmacy Fulfillment and Shipping

Pharmacy Fulfillment

Licensed pharmacies fill prescriptions, with direct-to-home delivery mentioned. The specific pharmacy is not named. Because medication is brand-name, there is no compounding pharmacy involved.

Shipping Frequency

Direct-to-home delivery is available, though details are minimal. Because medication is brand-name and filled at a pharmacy, delivery arrangements follow that pharmacy.

Support Services

  • Board-certified nurse practitioners
  • Membership option for ongoing access at $75 a month
  • Wide brand-name medication list including non-GLP-1 options
  • Direct-to-home delivery available
  • Coaching and dietitian support are not published as included

Pricing

The Virtual NP publishes two clear pricing routes for clinical care. Medication is billed separately in both cases.

Plan or MedicationPublished PriceWhat It Covers
Pay-as-you-go visit$99.00 per visitClinical care only; medication not included
Monthly membership$75 per monthClinical care only; medication not included
MedicationNot includedBilled separately through your pharmacy

Pricing reflects what The Virtual NP published at the time of review and can change without notice. Confirm current pricing directly with the provider before enrolling.

Membership Fees

The Virtual NP offers a $75 per month membership as an alternative to $99 pay-as-you-go visits. Neither includes medication cost, so factor that in separately.

Medication Fees

Not included in either pricing option. Because the practice prescribes brand-name medication, what you pay depends on your pharmacy and any coverage or manufacturer pricing you can access.

Cancellation and Refund Policy

Cancellation

Cancellation terms are not published. Because a monthly membership is offered, ask what notice is required before your next billing date.

Refunds

No refund policy is published. Request the written terms before enrolling, particularly for the membership option.

Insurance, HSA and FSA

Insurance

Insurance acceptance is not mentioned. Because the practice prescribes brand-name medication filled at a pharmacy, your insurance may still apply to the drug itself even if the visit is self-pay.

HSA / FSA

HSA and FSA acceptance is not mentioned. Telehealth visits and prescription medication are generally eligible expenses; confirm with your plan administrator.

For a fuller explanation of how these accounts work with GLP-1 care, see our GLP-1 insurance, HSA and FSA guide.

Who The Virtual NP May Be Best For

May Be a Good Fit If
  • You want brand-name medication rather than compounded
  • You may need a non-GLP-1 option such as Contrave or Saxenda
  • You live in Texas, Florida, Nevada, New York, Arizona, New Mexico or Kansas
  • You prefer nurse-practitioner-led care
  • You want a low monthly membership rather than per-visit billing
Limitations to Weigh
  • Only seven states served
  • Medication cost is separate from both pricing options
  • Lab requirements are not specified
  • Cancellation, refund and insurance terms are not published
  • Does not prescribe phentermine or other controlled substances

Alternatives to Consider

Klinic

Brand-name only across all 50 states, and it bills insurance.

Doctronic

$39 visits with insurance accepted, in all 50 states plus DC.

MEDvidi

A wider non-GLP-1 menu including phentermine, which The Virtual NP does not prescribe.

QuickMD

$99 flat consultations in 49 states, sending prescriptions to your own pharmacy.

You can also compare the whole field in our GLP-1 provider comparison and best online GLP-1 providers roundups.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does The Virtual NP cost?

Clinical care is $99.00 per visit pay-as-you-go, or $75 per month on a membership. Medication cost is not included in either option and is billed separately by your pharmacy.

Does The Virtual NP offer compounded medication?

No. It prescribes only brand-name FDA-approved products including Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Rybelsus, Victoza, Trulicity, Saxenda and Contrave.

Which states does it serve?

Texas, Florida, Nevada, New York, Arizona, New Mexico and Kansas.

Can I get phentermine?

No. The Virtual NP explicitly states it does not prescribe controlled substances such as phentermine. If that is something you want considered, [MEDvidi](/reviews/medvidi) and [Medi-Weightloss](/reviews/medi-weightloss) both prescribe it.

What BMI do I need?

A BMI of 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with risk factors including hypertension, prediabetes, diabetes, sleep apnea or increased waist circumference.

Who provides the care?

Board-certified nurse practitioners. See our [telehealth consultation guide](/articles/glp1-telehealth-consultation-guide) for how provider models differ across this market.

Medical Disclaimer

This review is for general information only and is not medical advice, a diagnosis, or a treatment recommendation. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with real risks and contraindications. Only a licensed clinician who knows your history can decide whether any medication is appropriate for you. Never start, stop, or change a prescription based on this page. If you have a medical emergency, call 911.

Details on this page describe what The Virtual NP published at the time of review. Programs, pricing, pharmacy partners, and policies change; verify everything directly with the provider before enrolling. See our full medical disclaimer.

Date reviewed: August 25, 2026

Our Verdict

The Virtual NP prescribes only brand-name FDA-approved medication across an unusually wide list, including Contrave and Saxenda alongside the main GLP-1s, through board-certified nurse practitioners. Pricing is clear at $75 a month or $99 per visit, though medication is billed separately. The binding constraint is geography, with just seven states served.

Disclosure: This review reflects our genuine assessment based on research, user feedback, and our evaluation criteria. Some links on this page may be affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission if you make a purchase through them at no additional cost to you. This does not influence our editorial opinions or ratings.

Compare more providers?